Thursday, December 08, 2016

Most Gold Glove Awards

Greg Maddux won more Gold Gloves than any player in history.
Most Gold Glove Awards:
18 Greg Maddux
16 Brooks Robinson, Jim Kaat
13 Ozzie Smith, Ivan Rodriguez
12 Roberto Clemente, Willie Mays
11 Keith Hernandez, Omar Vizquel
10 Johnny Bench, Andruw Jones, Ichiro Suzuki, Ken Griffey Jr, Al Kaline, Roberto Alomar, Mike Schmidt
09 Bob Gibson, Don Mattingly, Luis Aparicio, Ryne Sandberg
Maddux also has more sacrifice bunts than any right-handed pitcher in history, and won more games than any pitcher in the past 50 years. Maddux is the only pitcher with 300 wins to have fewer than 1000 walks. He has more putouts than any pitcher in history.
Most Gold Gloves by position:
P: Greg Maddux (18),  Jim Kaat (16), Bob Gibson (9)
C: Ivan Rodriguez (13), Johnny Bench (10), Yadier Molina (8)
1B: Keith Hernandez (11), Don Mattingly (9), George Scott (8)
2B: Roberto Alomar (10), Ryne Sandberg (9), Bill Mazeroski & Frank White (8)
3B: Brooks Robinson (16), Mike Schmidt (10), Scott Rolen (8)
SS: Ozzie Smith (13), Omar Zizquel (11), Luis Aparicio (9)
OF: Roberto Clemente & Willie Mays (12), Andruw Jones, Ken Griffey Jr, Al Kaline, & Ichiro Suzuki (10)
Ichiro Suzuki has the third most Gold Gloves for an outfielder, as well as the most hits in baseball history. Mays, Griffey, and Schmidt all hit more than 500 home runs. Mays, Clemente, and Ichiro all had over 3000 hits.
Gold Gloves won by Braves:
P Phil Niekro 1978-1980, 1982-1983
P Greg Maddux 1991-2002, 2004-2008
P Mike Hampton 2003
C Del Crandall 1958, 1959, 1960, 1962
C Joe Torre 1965
2B Felix Millan 1969, 1972
3B Terry Pendleton 1992
SS Andrelton Simmons 2013-2014
OF Hank Aaron 1958, 1959, 1960
OF Dale Murphy 1982-1986
OF Marquis Grissom 1995-1996
OF Andruw Jones 1998-2007
OF Jeff Francoeur 2007
OF Jason Heyward 2012, 2014
OF Ender Inciarte 2016
So many recent Braves have won that you wonder if Turner Field’s poor lighting had been taken into consideration.

No comments: