Friday, July 18, 2014

Ranking the SEC Stadiums

Athlon Sports assembled a team of twelve SEC media experts to rank the SEC’s football stadiums based on several factors: atmosphere, fan support, home-field advantage, amenities, tailgating, the surrounding campus, and the college town. Each expert ranked the stadiums in order 1-14, the the results were combined. Voters included Tim Brando and Macon’s Seth Emerson.

Tiger Stadium, LSU 100000 1924
Kyle Field, Texas A&M 102500 1904
Sanford Stadium, UGA 92746 1929
Neyland Stadium, Tennessee 102455 1921
Bryant-Denny Stadium, Alabama 101821 1929
Ben Hill Griffin Stadium, Florida 88548 1930
Jordan-Hare Stadium, Auburn 87451 1939
Williams-Brice Stadium, SC 80250 1934
Donald T Reynolds Razorbacks Stadium, Ark 72000 1938
Vaught-Hemingway Stadium, Ole Miss 60580 1915
Faurot Field at Memorial Stadium, Mo 77000 1927
Davis Wade Stadium, Mississippi State 61337 1914
Commonwealth Stadium, Kentucky 67692 1973
Vanderbilt Stadium, Nashville 40350 1922

I’ve attended games in Sanford Stadium, Neyland Stadium, and Jordan-Hare Stadium, and have driven past Williams-Brice Stadium, Commonwealth Stadium, and Vanderbilt Stadium.   

No comments: